(852) 9130-2048 [email protected]
形樂鋼琴調音維修 Kata Music Piano Tuning

A Female Piano Technician in Hong Kong

Ms. CHOI Chung Wan (Chung) is a rare female piano technician (or tuner) in Hong Kong. Most of her training took place in the United States. She graduated from the MA in Piano Technology program at Florida State University, a 2-year program dedicated to piano rebuilding and high-level piano service. Training including restringing, replacing piano parts including pin-blocks and soundboards. Furthermore, Chung was responsible for maintaining up to 70 pianos on campus. As a graduate music student, she also conducted academic research. Since the piano is related to many fields such as art, technology, and the society, Chung’s researches touched on not only composition, music history, musicology, but also education, local history, and genealogy.

Besides piano tuning, Chung enjoys making specialty tools for piano technicians, which have impressed numerous professionals including Peter Stumpf, who serves as the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s piano technician. While piano maintenance might be boring to some, Chung is captivated by its technical challenges and creative possibilities. Because of her musical background, Chung aspires to service pianos on the highest level and takes pride in being one of the important supporting members of a successful concert.

Professional Piano Tuning and Repair Experience

Before returning to Hong Kong, Chung did piano tuning for the Boston University Tanglewood Institute, and completed a practicum at the Carl Sauter piano factory in Germany. Ms. Choi is also interested in early pianos and fortepianos; aside from conducting academic researches, she has visited many renowned keyboard builders, and has worked as a technician for the Academy for Fortepiano Performance for two years.

形樂鋼琴調音維修 Kata Music Piano Tuning

From Taiko Studies to DIY Projects

Chung has spent a year in a fellowship at the Taiko Center of the Pacific in Honolulu, where she studied the arts of traditional and contemporary taiko with the renowned taiko artist and composer,Kenny Endo . She also assisted in teaching taiko classes and created two new websites for his school. Her professional taiko experience became an important foundation for her groundbreaking project:"DIY Taiko".

Compositions and Creative Experiments

As a conservatory trained composer, Ms. Choi is skilled in manipulating music to tell stories. Her sentimental chamber opera Last Night in The Hague, which tells a snippet of the young struggling Vincent van Gogh’s life, was premiered at the Pittsburgh Opera.

More information on Chung’s other projects, visit www.ChungWanChoi.com.

形樂 Kata Music

香港女鋼琴調音師 • 形樂 Kata Music
(852) 9130-2048 [email protected]
形樂鋼琴調音維修 Kata Music Piano Tuning

香港的女鋼琴技師

蔡松筠是香港少有的鋼琴技師(或鋼琴調音師)。她的訓練主要都在美國完成。她畢業並實習於 佛羅里達州立大學的鋼琴科技碩士課程,此課程每兩年只收錄兩名學生,是為了讓學生實習較為深層的鋼琴維修工作的兩年課程。訓練包括全套換弦,更換鋼琴部件,換針板和音板等。蔡氏亦對學術研究有濃厚興趣。鋼琴與很多學科有關,例如音樂、視覺藝術、科技及社會文化。蔡氏的研究觸及音樂作曲、音樂歷史、音樂學、教育及本土研究。

鋼琴調音以外,蔡氏熱愛自己研發 鋼琴維修工具得到許多美國的專業鋼琴技師認可,包括Peter Stumpf (Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra 的專用鋼琴技師)。大家也許覺得鋼琴工作很無聊,可是蔡氏認為這一行其實是可以很俱創意的。她的音樂背景亦促使她為了實現高質素的藝術,想要令鋼琴可以奏出最美妙的音樂。

專業鋼琴調音及維修經驗

回香港之後,蔡氏為 Boston University Tanglewood Institute的駐場鋼琴技師。她亦於 德國SAUTER造琴廠實習。蔡氏喜歡古鍵琴及古鋼琴;除了學術研究,她亦周遊美國拜美造琴師傅,亦兩度於 Academy for Fortepiano Performance 音樂營當中的十多部古鋼琴調音及維修。

形樂鋼琴調音維修 Kata Music Piano Tuning

修練日本太鼓

蔡師傅從小學習中國鼓,對亞洲鼓藝一直深感興趣,所以曾夏威夷跟隨日美藉太鼓大師 Kenny Endo 學習現代及傳統日本鼓藝一年。在這一年的修行,蔡師傅領悟到很多太鼓的歷史、技藝和哲學,從而開始研發對學習太鼓有正面幫助的工具。其研究名為「DIY Taiko」

作曲及創意音樂

此外,蔡師傅亦是一位受過音樂學院嚴格訓練的作曲家,其短歌劇《Last Night in The Hague》曾於匹茲堡歌劇(Pittsburgh Opera)演出

蔡師傅的音樂作品可於個人網頁收聽及收看: www.ChungWanChoi.com.

形樂 Kata Music